Ebbs & Flows

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

When I took martial arts as a kid, my instructor would always remind me that my movements should be as fluid as the ebbs and flows of Waikiki.

Strong and powerful at impact, quick and fluid at the return.

Each movement needed to be as fluid as the tides that flowed in and out throughout the day, and every breath needed to mimic the catch and release of each ebb and flow.

At the end of the day, if I moved with the ebbs and flows, and with the right intention, I’d finish with a strong and worthy practice.

I’ve come to realize that we experience “ebbs and flows” in almost everything we do.

There’s always a high, there’s always a low, and the little men in our heads are having a ball because they shred the waves of thoughts and feels that come in and out of us

All. Day. Long.

On my worst days, I confess that I feel like I could drown. I clench my fists and punch whatever rolls in.

Anxiety. Doubt. Uneasiness. Fear.

The occasional heart break too.

And I come out exhausted, hopeless, and discouraged.

I’ve been told that it is both a blessing and a curse to feel and to think so deeply.

And I agree.

I agree, but I thank God that He has given us the freedom of choice.


I once read in an article that said,

“Pick your moods like you pick your outfits in the morning.”

I don’t why, but that quote has stuck with me to this day.

I wake up. I look in the mirror. I burrow through stamps of adjectives I want to press into my forehead, so I’ll remember that on this day

I will be Strong.

I will be Kind.

I will be Compassionate.

I will be Loving.

I will be Brave.

I will be Humble.

Picking our moods and our feelings like we pick our outfits everyday can also translate as beginning everyday with an intention.

Everyday will have its ebbs and flows, but by grace it is our choice to choose

Will we drown

or

Will be wade

I’ve come to realize that we are able to wade…joyfully wade with the ebbs and flows, ups and downs, every single day with the right intention.

The optimist in me says maybe every barreling wave, unexpected whirlpool, the occasional sting of something unknown, is a tactic to keep us alive.

On our feet.

Alert.

Pounding.

And if we are humble enough to accept that every now and then the tides will change and the currents will shift just to remind us that panicking will cause us to drown,

I know I will always remember to simply swim.

Then and only then is when we can achieve a humble and worthy practice. Because it’s all practice.

It’s not easy, and it’s not convenient. However, the more we choose to swim and wade with the ebbs and flows of our everyday lives, our lives will become less and less like an episode of Cast Away.

So breathe my friends, because I know one of us knows how to wade. And if we somehow forget, let us be kind and humble enough to remind each other.

With Love, Kiana

One thought on “Ebbs & Flows

  1. YOUR WRITING SOUNDED POETIC…YOU MIGHT WANT TO ADD THAT AS PEOPLE DRAW CLOSER INTO RELATIONSHIP THE TIDES ARE HIGHER…CAPABLE OF MORE JOY AND FULFILLMENT WHILE AT THE SAME TIME CREATING GREATER POTENTIAL FOR VULNERABILITY AND HURT….

Leave a Reply

